South Africa’s Spatial Information Committee opens nominations for new members

Information from SA Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development

South Africa’s Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development are accepting nominations for members to serve on the Committee for Spatial Information (in terms Section 5 (3) of the Spatial Data Infrastructure Act of 2003).

Committee members will be required to strategically direct the development and implementation of the South African Spatial Data Infrastructure (SASDI) and to address matters related to spatial information, while ensuring that government investments in spatial information derives the maximum benefit. Committee members will hold office for a period of three years from the date appointment takes effect, which is to be published in the gazette.

The committee aims to be representative of various levels of government and the public sector, and calls for members to represent the minister, the department itself, persons employed by Statistics South Africa, National Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs and other national departments. It also seeks members from provincial government, local municipalities, as well as from the Council of Government Information Technology Officers (GITO). Persons representing the interests of public entities, a professional association and those teaching or researching Geographic Information Science are also invited to apply or be nominated.

Nominations, accompanied by acceptance letters and curriculum vitae, should be submitted before 7 August 2020 to Maroale Chauke: Tel +27 (012) 312-9643, [email protected] or [email protected]

More info here:

Related Articles